Removing Sticky Labels

Removing Sticky Labels

lemon

A few weeks ago I used lemon for cleaning my nasty shower. It took stains away that had been there for what looked like years, due to previous renters. Since that post I have found many other great cleaning uses for this citrus oil such as removing sticky labels from containers.

I have a couple of big events this month to share my love of these oils and I am offering up prizes at some of them. Because I wanted a cheap and simple container for the scrubs and lotions I would be giving away, I decided to use my left over baby jars, which I have a trillion of. They are super adorable and the perfect size for giveaway scrubs (check out how I drastically reduced my stretch marks with my amazing rose scrub in just four days!) and lotions. I simply painted the top my newest favorite color, teal, and filled them up. However, before the lid painting, the sticky labels posed a hardship for me. The more I tried to scrub them off, the more the stickiness spread around the jar. I remembered reading that lemon essential oil can help remove labels so I have it a shot.

sticky

It was fairly simple to do. To be able to mix the ingredients, I first melted a teaspoon of coconut oil by microwaving it for 30 seconds. I mixed in the two drops of lemon (if you don’t have lemon, try orange or citrus fresh) and the two teaspoons of baking soda and a liquid-y paste was made. Instead of letting it harden, I took a little bit on a spoon and drizzled it over the sticky area. I grabbed a scrubby pad and scrubbed away. With just a little effort, the stickiness was gone. I did this for about twenty jars with the amount that I made. I used what was left over for a face a scrub. It’s pretty cool that something that can remove labels can also be an acne fighting scrub! You can also store your mix until next time if you have any left over.

sticky gone

When making this, make sure to mix it in a glass or stainless steel container. Lemon will leach into plastic and it will forever smell/taste like lemon. These oils are powerful!

To order oils, click here. You can order as a retail member for full price, or sign up as a wholesale member and purchase the premium starter kit to get 24% off any purchase forever. More information on that here

This is my personal testimony.  Please consult with your physician prior to using any kind of natural remedy or supplement.

4 thoughts on “Removing Sticky Labels

    1. There are sooo many great uses for coconut oil! I highly recommend getting some. Costco has some great deals on it and Amazon does as well. I personally get mine from my local grocery store but I’m going to start buying bulk soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

