Play Now, Nap Later: Lavender Play Dough

Play Now, Nap Later: Lavender Play Dough

playdough

I may or may not still be on my crafting spree. Ok, I am, and because I don’t want to overwhelm my shower with a million scrubs (even though there are a few more I want to make, like tangerine-orange and vanilla), I decided on making an oily play dough for my daughter. It was just about nap time, so I decided that lavender would be a nice, calming scent to wind her down from her tiny one year old destructive ways. I set to work by getting out olive oil, lavender oil, salt, water, and flour.

ingredients

I like to get my hands dirty, so I manually mixed all of the ingredients. You, of course, can use a mixer. I mixed the ingredients until it all came together, adding a little flour and a little water to the mix until I got the texture I wanted. I loved the smell that was wafting into the air as I mixed everything together. Lavender doesn’t just work to calm kids down, it works for us big people too! The result was a nice, gooey but not too gooey, play dough.

lavender2

As it turns out, my daughter doesn’t really like play dough, at all. She tried a little taste of it and decided it was not her favorite new toy. She did kind of mess around with it for a little bit but she didn’t have a desire to do too much more with it. I think she just isn’t old enough yet, but it did lead to a two hour long nap, so that was a huge plus. Lavender is super calming and helps her sleep so much better- read about that here.

If your child likes play dough, this natural alternative is a great choice. Peppermint, orange, lemon, or citrus fresh would make excellent play dough.

Gather your little people and make some dough! Let me know how it goes in the comments below.

To order oils, click here. You can order as a retail member for full price, or sign up as a wholesale member and purchase the premium starter kit to get 24% off any purchase forever. More information on that here

This is my personal testimony.  Please consult with your physician prior to using any kind of natural remedy or supplement.

Leave a Reply

