Hosting a Young Living Event

Hosting a Young Living Event

On this blog I mainly like to talk about how I use Young Living products and what not, but today I want to touch a little bit on my event yesterday. I just had so much fun and wanted to share some tips for anyone who is thinking about throwing a little class or party.

class

I am a shy girl. I have a hard time talking to people, I don’t have a huge social group, and I worry way too much. Yesterday was my first big event and I was stressed out because I had never done such a large class with people I don’t know. I had a slideshow set up and made the peppermint brownies  I mentioned in the last post, but I was worried no one would come.

Lots of people ended up coming and it was a HUGE success. Little shy Lexi hosted an amazing class! I was freaking out after because it went so well. So, I want to share some tips with you!

Don’t make it about selling. Make it about helping.

If you go into a class or a party just to make a sale, you’re not going to go anywhere. Do it for the satisfaction of giving information and helping people. Let them ask questions, look things up if you don’t know, and don’t just make it about a sale. Be honest about pricing as well. I loved my class yesterday because I feel like I actually made a difference in these people’s lives. They were so excited to get the knowledge and I feel like I helped them get what they needed. That of course led to a lot of great sales, but I just feel good that I helped them out. It isn’t about the money for me. It’s about spreading the knowledge and having fun. The money is great, don’t get me wrong, but don’t be in this business just for that. Love your product and love helping people.

loveyourproduct

Make a slideshow

Make a slideshow with necessary information. Add a few slides about why you chose Young Living and how they are set apart from different companies. Make a slide about how you can use oils in your daily life. Make slides about each of the oils in the kit and whatever other oils you want to talk about. Make a few slides about some problems your viewers might have and what other oils can help them. For example, because I was in a retirement home I had a slides on oils for hair loss, arthritis, etc. You could do some for sleep problems or whatever your audience might have issues with. Know who you are talking to. Also, it’s a good idea to have a slide about the kit and how it’s so worth it’s value and everything it comes with.

Know your prices

People will ask you what the oils cost. Bring your product book or have a list of the oils in your kit and their prices. Explain to them that these oils go a long way and will last a long time and the quality is worth the price.

experience

Use personal examples

People want to hear how these oils work for you. Tell them what you use and what you use it for. For example, I always tell the story about how Valor helps my boyfriend stop snoring and I play the before and after videos for them. They want to hear your personal story.

Bring food

People love food. Plain and simple. Bake some peppermint brownies and make some lemon water to share. This will help them realize how many ways these oils can be used and how simple it can be. Plus, food always brings in more people. The more people that come, the more people you are going to be able to help.

Help them sign up

The sign up process can be a little difficult. Have your computer and help them sign up right there. Or take their information and let them know you will make an account for them if they are unable to make one.

Explain why Young Living needs their SSN for a kit purchase

This one is really important. Some people opt out of buying the kit because they are uncomfortable with giving away their social security number. Explain to them that the information is very secure and that it is used because buying the kit allows you to sell and it will be used for tax purposes if they do sell. Basically it’s necessary because they have the potential to sell, even if they don’t choose to.

winner

Offer prizes

People love free things. Offer prizes! Play games for prizes or points toward a prize, hold a drawing for those who purchase something, have a gift pack for anyone who buys a kit, whatever. It doesn’t have to be big or expensive. For example, I am going to host an online class this weekend. Every day we are going to play a game for points. You can also win points for asking and answering questions, purchasing something, etc. The person with the most points will win a bottle of purification to help with spring cleaning. Super simple, yet fun.

Have a business card

People are going to want to contact you. Have a card with the Young Living logo, your name, your phone number, your email, and your member number.

Not every party or class is going to go well

Know that not every class or event will go as you want it to. There will be a time where you have a class and no one will buy anything, no matter how hard you worked. That’s ok. It happens.You did your best. You planted seeds of knowledge. Don’t stress it. Pick yourself up and move on. This is so important. Do not give up just because an event or two or even more didn’t go well.

Ladies and gents, you got this! Go out and host a class or party or event or whatever! Do it online, go to a retirement home, go to a vendor event, have one at home, do whatever you feel comfortable doing. Spread that information. Anyone can do it. Even shy Lexi. You won’t go anywhere if you don’t share, share, share.

3 thoughts on “Hosting a Young Living Event

Leave a Reply

