Calm the Storm with Lavender

Calm the Storm with Lavender

It’s every mother’s dream for their children to be happy, calm beings all the time and for them to go to bed without a fuss. In a perfect world, children wouldn’t throw tantrums in the middle of the store or scream for an hour instead of napping, but we all know that those sorts of things happen every day. It’s just part of the blessing of having children. They scream, they cry, they throw fits, but we still love them.

lavender

My daughter is going through her teething stage right now and is extremely testy. She’s been throwing herself around and screaming if I try to put her down for a nap or for bedtime, no matter how tired she is. I know, how horrible of me to try to make sure she gets enough sleep. She doesn’t seem to care how good my motives are, she just is not having it.

After a few days of that fun adventure, I decided to bring out the lavender at bedtime. I really can’t stand the smell of lavender and my daughter is just a year old, so I mixed just one drop of lavender with a few pumps of her normal lotion. I undressed her and rubbed the mixture all over her cute little tummy and the rest of her tiny body. Surprisingly, she didn’t even fight me. Normally she would screech, claw, dance around, etc.

I laid down with her like normal and she was a little bit fussy, but nothing like normal. Within a few minutes of us snuggling and nursing, she was out. It cut our routine time in over half.

Normally she wakes up around 10 p.m. and I lay with her until she falls back asleep and she wakes back up around midnight and we go get her and she sleeps in our bed. This time though, she didn’t wake up until after 2:00 a.m. The lavender not only helped calm her down, it helped her sleep longer and better too.

I added a drop of lavender to my mascara because I have read that it helps lengthen and strengthen lashes. More on that in the future!

How do you calm the storm with your children? Or husbands, they count too.

To order oils, click here. You can order as a retail member for full price, or sign up as a wholesale member and purchase the premium starter kit to get 24% off any purchase forever. More information on that here

This is my personal testimony.  Please consult with your physician prior to using any kind of natural remedy or supplement.

9 thoughts on “Calm the Storm with Lavender

Leave a Reply

